A Time To SOW

A Time To SOW

SEA OF GREEN

By Duncan Cameron, SOW Consulting LLCMarch 3, 2023

Hello everyone and happy March. I can just about smell Spring on the horizon, and with the approaching season comes the inevitable pull on every farmer and gardener to plan and plant. I myself am using my indoor garden to get a jump on my still frozen outdoor one. Whenever I find myself blending techniques I realize that growing isn't and either/or game. Folks on both sides of the fence often think the other is full of it... or don't fully understand. I think that amid the energy transition, climate change and land scarcity we will need to employ indoor techniques while still taking advantage of the free benefits of Mother Nature.

Speaking of CEA, IndoorAg-Con just wrapped up its latest conference in Las Vegas. As usual there were a lot of attendees and a lot of new tech. More importantly, in the face of recent indoor ag business failures there was more talk about what prospective indoor operators should consider before starting up. Nitty gritty stuff like -

  • Do you know what a power upgrade means for your timeline?

  • How much HVAC do you really need?

  • What is the licensing process?

  • How is the local water quality?

  • What automation is available and is it worth it?

I actually love this kind of problem solving. To me indoor growing is still a blank slate. Keeping an open mind about what is possible will allow for further innovation which will hopefully benefit us all.

OTHER NEWS

GLASE has been conducting a greenhouse lighting & systems engineering short course. There are six modules written and taught by some very smart people. Check it out

MSO cannabis darlings Green Thumb Industries (GTI) just posted a $51million loss for Q4 2022. This is in opposition to a $22.8 million profit in Q4 2021. I won't get into the rest of the minutiae here but despite revenue growth the accelerated shrinking of margins, especially in newer legal states, is offsetting any real gains. Will this further push small and midsize players out of the market or favor more nimble and efficient operators? All I know is the good 'ole weed days are gone.

PRODUCT NEWS

Stop having your people walk around your facilities. Use

. Everyone else does.

Air doesn't move by HVAC alone. If you want even canopy distribution you gotta help it along. The guys at EZTrim (yeah, those guys) have a

. Talk to Ryan - [email protected]

I love this article in

Not that I'm a fan of turning back the clock on automation but I like the spirit of making your own tools to fit the job.

Thanks for reading, d